top of page
Search
  • msorya2

A Community Playlist: Harish's selection

Harish selected two songs:


1) Tu Ganga Ki Mauj (You are the wave of river Ganga) from the 1952 film Baiju Bawara (Baiju the Insane)


"I've always liked this song. The film was released just after I was born and I remember watching the film when I was very young. The lyrics are very powerful".

Harish Sorya 


Listen to the song here:


LYRICS: Tu Ganga Ki Mauj from the 1952 film Baiju Bawara,


Radha don't go to the river Jamuna alone


You're the wave of river Ganga and I'm the flow of river Jamuna

You're the wave of river Ganga and I'm the flow of river Jamuna

Our union is bound to happen

Our union is bound to happen


If you're the ocean then I'm the middle of it

I'm the paddle for the boat of your heart

You won't be able to ride the boat all by yourself

You won't find your destination without me

Please come, please come

Please come and bring the joy with you

Our union is bound to happen


How can the bonds of our heart break

Happiness isn't lost when it unites with joy

Even if you hide in a vortex, I won't let you hide

I'll drown your boat and I'll find you

We'll make, we'll make

One day we'll make the storm into a shore

Our union is bound to happen


You're the wave of river Ganga and I'm the flow of river

You're the wave of river Ganga and I'm the flow of river

Our union is bound to happen

Our union is bound to happen


You're the wave of river Ganga and I'm the flow of river Jamuna

You're the wave of river Ganga and I'm the flow of river Jamuna

Our union is bound to happen


2) 'Sai' (2010) Satinder Sartaaj


"I like this song because he is trying to include the whole world and show that we have different names for the same God, but it is the same God we pray to at the end of the day. I like the message of it. He asks God for lots of things in a very nice way. For example, "if I fall please pick me up. I'm a poet, be a poet for me." I think he's asking God to be his companion. It's a very popular song with Muslims, Sikhs and Hindus."

Harish  


Listen to the song here:


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page